Music From The Microphones – “Don’t Wake Me Up” – Digital Servicing Only

Posted on Jun 17, 2013
Music From The Microphones – “Don’t Wake Me Up” – Digital Servicing Only

Last year, we digitally serviced two new albums by Mount Eerie. Since 2003, Mount Eerie has released numerous singles, EPs, & LPs under said moniker. Prior, Phil Elverum of Mount Eerie worked under the name The Microphones.

This is the first official album by The Microphones, originally released by K in 1999 to worldwide confusion. It has been out of print for a long time. While assisting during recording sessions at K‘s in-house studio, Dub NarcoticElverum would work on the side and piece together parts of his work which culminated in the completion of his debut album Don’t Wake Me Up. The release served as the first proper introduction to Elverum‘s production style, which embraced raw sounds and coupled it with comparably raw lyrics and songwriting. The songs feature backing vocals by Mirah, Khaela Maricich of The Blow and Calvin Johnson of Beat Happening. The record shifts between lo-fi rock, droning soundscapes, and delicate guitar strums. The pieces find themselves running into each other at times, making for an exhilarating and honest documentation of Elverum‘s early work.

We are excited to be digitally servicing all five of The Microphones’ albums slated for re-issue this year. All five records are being re-pressed to vinyl (one for the first time!) with some being remastered and containing new artwork & inserts. For more information on The Microphones‘ re-issues, click here.

RIYL: Eric’s Trip, Swirlies, Mount Eerie, My Bloody Valentine

Recommended Tracks: Track #1 “Ocean 1, 2, 3”, track #8 “You Were in the Air”, track #2 “Florida Beach”, track #7 “Tonight There’ll Be Clouds”


Going for Adds 6/24 & 6/25

Label: P.W. Elverum & Sun

Skip to toolbar