New Music From Fishing

Posted on Jun 25, 2014
New Music From Fishing

Sydney-based Fishing, composed of beatmaking duo Russel Fitzgibbon and Doug Wright, is finally back with a fresh batch of glossy tracks. Their debut album, Shy Glow, is filled with blissful, tropical sounds – a perfect summer soundtrack. The bouncy, enticing opening track “Recoup” creates a world of warm textures and rich, vivid colors. Shy Glow creates an enchanting, lush atmosphere that is only further enhanced by the duo’s club, pop, and hip-hop influences. Fishing’s blissful hypnagogic-pop sound is exemplified by the tracks “Pacific Ocean” and “Racer.” The breezy electronic layers and warm arrangements become more entrancing with every listen, making them the album’s most essential tracks.

The album includes vocal contributions by Cloud Control‘s Alister Wright and Sydney-based artists Jonas Nicholls, Marcus Whale and Lavurn Lee.

“There’s a brightness to what they do — a mix of Avalanches-style sampledelia, Animal Collective-like psych-pop, and contemporary beat-work — and also a certain amount of intimacy”

RIYL: Animal Collective, Cut Copy, Panda Bear, Washed Out, tUnE-yArDs, Flume, Toro Y Moi

Recommended Tracks: Track #4 “Chi Glow”, track 2 “Your Mouth“, track #1 “Recoup”, track #6 “Nineteen / Boy Wunder” track #8 “Nova Current”, track #10 “Racer”


Going for Adds 6/30 & 7/1

Label: Create Control

Skip to toolbar