Netflix Highlights Anna Of The North’s “Lovers”

Posted on Aug 29, 2018
Netflix Highlights Anna Of The North’s “Lovers”

Anna Of The North‘s track “Lovers” has seen a huge uptick in streams since being prominently featured in a crucial scene of the new Netflix romantic comedy To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. In an interview with Elite Daily, the film’s music supervisors said, “Some of our own personal favorite teen rom-coms stand out because of great songs that played during the big kiss moment. Anna of the North was a band that our coordinator, Kelly Austin, was a huge fan of. She pitched us ‘Lovers,’ and we thought it was the perfect blend of cool, sensual, and emotional.”

The song is the title track of the debut LP from the Norwegian duo of Anna Lotterud (who was featured on Tyler, The Creator’s album Flower Boy alongside Frank Ocean, Steve Lacy, and Rex Orange County) and Brady Daniell-Smith. Together, they have built an international audience with an epic, swooning, and ethereal sound that, according to the FADER, “brings out Scandi-pop’s sensitive side.” Anna Of The North has amassed tens of millions of plays on Spotify, where the group boasts 800,000 monthly listeners, and has topped The Hype Machine multiple times. Lovers is held together with trancelike beats, wistful vocals, and emotive lyrics that fuse on buoyant lamentations of fading love. In addition to the title track, highlights include the softly stomping “Someone,” which draws from 80s influences and sports a mighty hook; the slow, sparkling, and dreamy “Baby;” and the spacious, longing album closer “All I Want.” We’re reservicing Lovers now to coincide with the interest surrounding its use in To All The Boys I’ve Loved.

“Lithe, layered synth-pop… with all the slick pop sensitivity of , albeit pared down from a club jam to echoey early morning sounds… Lovers is a slick, listenable debut with a strong sense of direction and poise.” -The Line of Best Fit

“Anna keeps twisting and warping the dreamlike blueprint of her Scandipop forebears to such gorgeous effect.” -NME

RIYL: Nite Jewel, Lykke Li, M83, Jessy Lanza, Yumi Zouma, Sky Ferreira, Sally Shapiro, Robyn, Marian Hill, DIANA

Recommended Tracks: Track 3, “Lovers,” Track 2, “Someone,” Track 5, “Always,” Track 7, “Baby,” Track 4, “Money”


Digital Servicing Only

Label: +1 Records / Honeymoon

Skip to toolbar