New Release From Independent Project Records: Tape Excavation

Posted on Mar 29, 2023
New Release From Independent Project Records: Tape Excavation

The original 14-song limited edition vinyl LP of Tape Excavation was created to accompany the 2020 Independent Project Records coffee table book Savage Impressions (an arresting look back on Independent Project Records and Independent Project Press founder Bruce Licher’s career as a visual artist) published by P22Tape Excavation was compiled by Savage Republic and Scenic founding member Licher after scouring through dozens of boxes of cassette tapes from rehearsals, demos, and other recordings to find previously unheard nuggets from his various musical endeavors. Tape Excavation is filled with a wide range of musical expression, from Licher’s early, no-wave inspired recordings for the Project 197 EP (IPR’s first release) in 1980, through previously unheard recordings from his groups Savage Republic and Scenic (and various offshoots), a wide range of solo recordings (some created as demos for his fellow band members to be able to listen to new song ideas), collaborations with fellow musicians Henry Frayne (Lanterna) and Michael Krassner (Boxhead Ensemble), and a rehearsal demo of his current musical project SR2, a powerful collaboration with his wife Karen Nielsen Licher.

Eight additional tracks have been added to this expanded re-issue which now contains 22 intriguing windows into the ongoing evolution of Licher’s sonic vision. It has been mastered by Warren DeFever (His Name Is Alive) at Third Man, for the highest fidelity possible on these intriguing riffs.

FCC Clean

RIYL: Scenic, Exploratorium, Lanterna, Savage Republic

Label: Independent Project Records

Focus Tracks: Track 22, “The Great Escape” by SR2, Track 17, “B Minor” by Lanterna f/ Bruce Licher, Track 10, “Bossa Dune (Basic Tracks” by Scenic, Track 13, “Tundra” by Bruce Licher, Track 18, “Advancement” by Rank, & Track 19, “Birthdaysong (7 & 7 is)” by Bruce Licher

Goes For Adds 4/4

Skip to toolbar