New Music From Occurrence

Posted on Apr 5, 2023
New Music From Occurrence

Slow Violence, the new double album by Occurrence, is an expansive statement about vulnerability and decay, about the things that terrify us and liberate us. Bandleader Ken Urban (electronics, synths & beats), Cat Hollyer (vocals, flute) and Johnny Hager (vocals) have created an album that reveals the “slow violence” (a term coined by Rob Nixon) that accrues over the course of our lives. After a pandemic-imposed separation, the band stretched out and experimented, repurposing previous recordings to craft an evocative album that captures both the bliss of falling in love and the pain of failure slapping you in the face.

The album features guest appearances from Kip Berman of The Pains of Being Pure at HeartChristian Frederickson of Rachel’s, actor Peter Mark Kendall from TV’s The Americans, plus Johnny’s dad on trombone and Alexander McCabe on saxophone. Long-time band associate and TONY-nominated composer Daniel Kluger contributed additional production on three tracks. The album was mixed by Kiri Stensby, who makes music as Hara Kiri, and mastered by GRAMMY-nominated engineer Jessica Thompson.

FCC WARNING: Track 13, “The Remote Past Tense,” Track 19, “Anonymous Data Call,” & Track 21, “ I F*cked The World To Get You To Love Me.” Digital servicing includes edits of 13 & 21.

Recommended Tracks: Track 2, “Universe Moves So Fast,” Track 3, “Fudge,” Track 7, “Heels Over Head,” Track 18 “Dissolve”

“Fast paced, fluid, and taut” – New York Times

“Expansive and consuming… unsettling and brilliant all at once.” – Atwood Magazine

“Glitch, toned down trip-hip, and strangeness in its most pure forms” – Glide

“A belligerent charm mixed in with all those low-end synth lines that feel like clenched fists pounding away.” – Joyzine

Goes For Adds 4/11

Label: Archie & Fox Records

Skip to toolbar