Saturday, April 13 is Record Store Day. The annual event has been a crucial part of the vinyl resurgence over the years, and it’s drawn attention not only to records themselves but to the local, unique stores that sell them and the communities that exist around those stores. This year, the creators of Record Store Day have made a limited-edition compilation LP was curated from the classic Sun Record Company catalog by participating Record Store Day stores. Volume 6 marks the sixth installment of the Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day series and highlights many of the incredible female artists in the Sun Records archive. The track list was carefully curated by the hardworking people in record stores themselves and includes gems from throughout the history of the Memphis label that was so essential to the birth and development of rock n’ roll.

This #RSD2019 exclusive release is limited to 4,000 copies worldwide. Play some songs on the air, and make sure your listeners know which local stores are participating in this year’s Record Store Day. A full list can be found here.

Tracklist of Sun Records Curated By Record Store Day, Volume 6:

A1 Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson – Soulshake
A2 Jeannie C Riley – Harper Valley PTA
A3 Margaret Lewis – Kangaroo of Love
A4 Betty Harris – There’s a Break in The Road
A5 Gloria Taylor – You Got To Pay The Price
A6 Bettye LaVette – At The Mercy of A Man
B1 Patti Page – Tennessee Waltz
B2 Dixie Cups – Chapel of Love
B3 Jelly Beans – Baby Be Mine
B4 Evie Sands – You Got Me Uptight
B5 The Blue Angels – I Wonder
B6 Doris Allen – Candy From A Baby

FCC Clean

Label: ORG Music

RIYL: The Cookies, Dolly Parton,  The Shirelles, Shirley Ellis, Maxine Brown, The Crystals, Lesley Gore, Sparkle Moore

Skip to toolbar