CONFUSION MODERNE 750DTCV was born late at night at a party in the Hollywood Hills mansion of a film producer, where Lola G. – a French-born musician slumming in LA’s stoner garage scene – met novelist, screenwriter, and former Guided By Voices member James Greer. Lola and Greer started a conversation about Super-Fuzz pedals and the imminent worldwide collapse of the capitalist paradigm, and by night’s end had decided to form DTCV. The two multi-instrumentalists quickly had enough songs for several albums: debut EP Basket of Masks, recorded in the Oakland warehouse of garage prodigy Greg Ashley (The Gris-Gris, King Khan); Forever Strange, released on Burger Records; and 2013’s double LP Hilarious Heaven, recorded by Steve Kille (Dead Meadow). A desire to escape domesticity then led them to migrate to the Mojave Desert, where they settled like hermits into a cabin and wrote last year’s UPTIME! LP, jointly released on Kille’s Xemu Records and Lolipop Records.

In 2015, while listening to Clifton Chenier’s French Zydeco and the Nouvelle Vague-inspired Brian Jonestown Massacre album Musique de Film Imaginé, Lola felt an urge to write songs in her native tongue. The resulting album, Confusion Moderne, was recorded with psych guru Joel Jerome (Dios, Babies on Acid) and mixes classic French pop, garage rock, and 60s yé-yé with DTCV’s own signature post-punk inflections to make a sound the band likens to “Françoise Hardy fronting the Buzzcocks.” With the exception of Greer’s coruscating screed against the domestication of rock, “We Aren’t the Champions,” the album was written entirely in French by Lola and deals largely, if indirectly, with her anti-consumerist and pro-environmental concerns.

“Lola G. is letting her French heritage shine through on the first single, ‘Bourgeois Pop,’ a fuzzy little gem en français. If the whole record is as charming as this, we’re in for a treat.”-Brooklyn Vegan

“…Shoegaze girl-group pop a la Vivian Girls and/or Dum Dum Girls with dashes of both Françoise Hardy and Pat Benatar.”–Stereogum

RIYL: Dum Dum Girls, Sonic Youth, La Sera, Sleater-Kinney, My Bloody Valentine, Veronica Falls, A Place to Bury Strangers, Debbie Harry, The Vaselines, Stereo Total, France Gall

Recommended Tracks: Track 1, “Histoire Seule,” Track 2, “Conformiste,” Track 4, “Borgeois Pop,” Track 10, “Velomoteur”

FCC Warning: Track 7, “We Aren’t the Champions”

Digital Servicing Only

Going for adds 4/11 & 4/12

Label: Xemu/Lolipop

Visit Their Official Site

Skip to toolbar