Sleepytime Gorilla Museum (SGM), the gloriously uncategorizable American band, has regrouped after 13 years to complete a fourth studio album titled Sleepytime Gorilla Museum of the Last Human Being. Due on February 23, it will be the very first release of AVANT NIGHT – a new imprint headed by Nick Ohler and facilitated by Joyful Noise Recordings. Originating in Oakland, California, the band got its start in 1999 and released three albums during its initial run – Grand Opening and Closing (2001), Of Natural History (2004), and In Glorious Times (2007). Comprised of multi-instrumentalists and rotating vocalists Nils Frykdahl, Carla Kihlstedt, Michael “Iago” Mellender, Matthias Bossi, and Dan Rathbun, SGM plays an arsenal of instruments ranging from the somewhat standard (drums, electric guitars, bass, electric violin) to the rare (bass harmonica, nyckelharpa, marxophone) to the homemade (Slide-Piano Log, Electric Pancreas, Pedal-Action Wiggler). The group has consistently evaded easy categorization, garnering accolades from across the aisles of contemporary classical music, prog rock, industrial music, metal, avant-garde improv, and more. Their music, in turns bashing and bucolic, enveloping and unsettling, tends towards long-form epics interspersed with mysterious field recordings.

Sleepytime Gorilla Museum has also announced a lengthy 2024 tour, including two nights at the legendary Stanley Hotel, the location where The Shining was filmed.

FCC Clean

Label: AVANT NIGHT / Joyful Noise

Going For Adds 2/27


Skip to toolbar